SteveMRyan's Blog

April 24, 2013

Take Three…

Filed under: Uncategorized — stevemryan @ 3:03 am

I continued my 1914-16 Tournament tonight. Trial and error, but the errors are totally my fault. The first time I started the game, I believe the score was 2-2 in the 7th inning and I had a runner on with the pitcher up and decided to use a pinch-hitter for the home team. The run didn’t score and after the inning I realized I never entered the pinch-hitter in the score-sheet. When I attempted to correct that error, I then discovered that I forgot to turn the auto-save feature on and wiped everything out. Nothing to do but start over.

The second time I started the game, I turned on the auto-save feature. Then as the game was becoming a blowout, I had a player advance to second on a throw home. It took me a couple of tries to get that figured out and it involved restoring the program to the point where I messed up in the top of the 7th inning. Then in the bottom of the eighth inning I had a player ejected and that also took a few tries to figure out. I actually never figured that particular problem out because after my goof-up I discovered I forgot to turn the auto-save feature on after my 7th inning fiasco. All was not lost. I had turned auto-save after the previous goof and was able to restore to the top of the 7th.

So my third restart began in the 7th inning again and I turned on the auto-save feature. I still had a couple of problems, but I was able to correct those issues by following  instructions. In the bottom of the 7th inning I needed to do a double switch along with bring in a new pitcher, After a couple of tries I was able to complete that task and all’s well that ends well. I’ll post the score-sheets and see how bad my memory really is.

The 1916 Giants won 14-5 in a blowout. I believe the 1915 Giants play in the next matchup, so there is the potential for a Giants v Giants meeting in Round Two.

Image

Image

I am not sure I will be able to compile stats from all of my games, but as I figure out the program, I am confident that I can set up a Dropbox or some other type of Cloud storage system to save my games and ultimately have compiled stats for all my games.

I also discovered that, most likely Diane, has chewed up my notebooks from my BASE System I bought 15 or so years ago. The information isn’t all that useful now but with a little effort, I may be able to reverse engineer the system and apply if to current and even future seasons. That could be very helpful in my leagues and maybe even future tournament team selections. That is something I will look into.

On a personal note, my wife fixed the most incredible home-made Butter Pecan Ice Cream tonight. It is like a soft-serve ice cream and it makes my tongue happy. It is better than similar choices available in retail stores. Her ice cream is cheaper and much healthier. I love it!

I go back to work at 6AM Thursday and not sure if I will have an opportunity to play any tournament games tomorrow, but I will do so in the future. Life is good!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

I-75 Strat-O-Matic League

The foremost Strat-O-Matic brains in the country

Ten-acious Baseball League

A Strat-o-matic Simulation League

Jim's APBA Barn

APBA Sports Games and other Table Topics

Ask Rotoman

Answers to fantasy baseball questions (and much more) since 1996

jimsceblog

There's a fine line between visionary and wrong. Unfortunately, it takes a visionary to see it.

Isaac Miller

Professional Computer Scientist | Amateur Baseball Scientist

ArchRivals Baseball

APBA Baseball info and APBA compatible sets

APBA Life

Baseball

Smart Fantasy Baseball

fantasy baseball data, projections, and strategy

Oguard62

In pursuit of the perfect replay

101 Fantasy Football Tips

e-Book help from 50+ Fantasy writers.

