SteveMRyan's Blog

May 28, 2013

Sometimes, I get in my own way…

Filed under: Uncategorized — stevemryan @ 11:45 pm

Tonight I resumed my APBA Baseball Tournament using my 1914-1916 cards from the American, National and Federal Leagues. I have some new rules. My awesome wife was able to have a dice tower custom-made for my birthday! My new rules apply to my dice tower. If the dice bounce out of the bottom landing, then I re-roll both dice. I want to get used to the tower and the feel before the Convention Tournament.

I played a game tonight, it somehow screwed up saving the scoresheet. If I am able to recover the results, then I will post them. Not totally sure that will be possible.

As for the Convention Tournament, I have done some extensive research and have narrowed down the field to less than 10 teams. I was able to utilize Excel to evaluate all of the teams in the history of the Major Leagues. I have compared that outcome to my inventory list and of the top nine ranked teams, I have all of them. I only have one of the next six ranked teams, so I will probably include that team in my final selection process.

Of my top ranked teams, only one is an ineligible previous Convention Tournament Championship Team, the 2001 Seattle Mariners. I believe I have season disk that match most of these teams, so I will be able to import the season cards into Excel and evaluate them further based on the card numbers. My final decision will be based on the strength of the cards in the starting lineup and rotation, along with several key relievers, but also based on what I evaluate as useless cards. Since we can only use 20 cards for each team, no XBs or XCs, useless cards will probably play a key role in my final decision. I don’t have many off days until the Convention, so there is a bit of urgency.

I am excited and have been keeping an eye on eBay for season sets that I have not yet added to my collection. In the past couple of weeks, I have been able to add the 1991 & 1992 Seasons along with the 1919 Season. The 1919 Reds ranked just behind previous tourney champion the Reds from 1975. I will consider Reds teams, but since the Convention is held in the a greater Atlanta area, I may also choose a Braves team. I am leaning toward a team with a solid defense to compliment a strong pitching staff. The 2011 Phillies ranked in my top 25 teams and they ranked as one of the strongest pitching staffs. But, I really have a strong dislike for the Phillies. My final decision might come down to my choice of hat for the weekend. I am excited!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

I-75 Strat-O-Matic League

The foremost Strat-O-Matic brains in the country

Ten-acious Baseball League

A Strat-o-matic Simulation League

Jim's APBA Barn

APBA Sports Games and other Table Topics

Ask Rotoman

Answers to fantasy baseball questions (and much more) since 1996

jimsceblog

There's a fine line between visionary and wrong. Unfortunately, it takes a visionary to see it.

Isaac Miller

Professional Computer Scientist | Amateur Baseball Scientist

ArchRivals Baseball

APBA Baseball info and APBA compatible sets

APBA Life

Baseball

Smart Fantasy Baseball

fantasy baseball data, projections, and strategy

Oguard62

In pursuit of the perfect replay

101 Fantasy Football Tips

e-Book help from 50+ Fantasy writers.

