SteveMRyan's Blog

June 6, 2013

This is a good life…

Filed under: Uncategorized — stevemryan @ 11:35 pm

I am progressing through my Tournament.  One game at a time, but since it could potentially be 195 games, it is like the proverbial Journey of 1000 Miles.  You just take one step at a time.  

This was an interesting game.  One of my favorite pitchers of the era, Babe Adams started for the 1914 Pittsburgh Pirates.  The Chicago White Sox had many of the players who were portrayed in the movie Eight Men Out.  I have Babe Adams in one of my BBW Leagues, and acquired him as the centerpiece of a trade that included a young Ty Cobb being traded away.

Image

 

Image

 

The White Sox won 5-1 with some good defense and timely hitting.  Or rather I should say the Pirates lost it with poor defense and a lack of hitting with runners on base.  This era seems to produce some interesting play results.  There were several outs at home and double plays that began with fly and line drive outs.  That makes the games interesting.

This White Sox team does have very good defense as well as a strong offense.  Like the other teams of the era that were contenders, the Sox also have very good pitching.  Team like this would be good contenders for my Convention Tournament team, but I really want a strong bullpen and bullpens were not utilized in this era.

In the past week or so I have added four seasons to my Baseball Season Collection.  My brother got me the 1996 Season and I won auctions on eBay for the 1919, 1991 and 1992 Seasons.  I had to sort the 1991 Season, but I actually kind of enjoy that type of activity.

Work has been going well.  My boss is playing in the TVOC this weekend and I hope he does well.  He plays Doubles and there are four pairs in his draw.  If he wins one match he wins $200 and if he wins two matches, he wins $400.  Not bad for a weekend.  Considering the entry fee is $28 for half of the doubles team entry fee, that isn’t a bad ROI.  

I am still learning a lot and still find the whole experience very challenging.  I am getting acclimated to the schedule and rotating shifts, but that will take more getting used to.  I am usually a zombie for the first off day or so.  That is the job and I am not complaining, just stating the situation.  The people are good and I like a job that challenges me.  My last job was turning my brain to mush and maybe this job will help me not become a mush head as I age gracefully.

I work nights next week then I am off for six days.  I go back and work one day then the convention.  I am excited and am even considering the APBA Football Convention during August in Canton Ohio at the Pro Football Hall of Fame.  I believe the convention will be one of the first events in an expanded area or something about it is unique.  Another plus is that my wife likes football and she would probably enjoy the shrine.

Life is going well and I am loving my time with my lovely wife!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

I-75 Strat-O-Matic League

The foremost Strat-O-Matic brains in the country

Ten-acious Baseball League

A Strat-o-matic Simulation League

Jim's APBA Barn

APBA Sports Games and other Table Topics

Ask Rotoman

Answers to fantasy baseball questions (and much more) since 1996

jimsceblog

There's a fine line between visionary and wrong. Unfortunately, it takes a visionary to see it.

Isaac Miller

Professional Computer Scientist | Amateur Baseball Scientist

ArchRivals Baseball

APBA Baseball info and APBA compatible sets

APBA Life

Baseball

Smart Fantasy Baseball

fantasy baseball data, projections, and strategy

Oguard62

In pursuit of the perfect replay

101 Fantasy Football Tips

e-Book help from 50+ Fantasy writers.

