SteveMRyan's Blog

June 25, 2013

Another reason I love her so…

Filed under: Uncategorized — stevemryan @ 10:38 pm

Tonight I played a game of APBA Baseball with my wife.  Now, no one will ever accuse her of playing APBA-Ball.  We didn’t use the H&R any and we didn’t take advantage of other things that didn’t fit into the possibilities of regular baseball play.  She is learning the game and I am sure the syntax of the boards may be a bit imitating when combined with the baseball vernacular.  She is patient with me and my hobby, so I am thrilled to exercise that patience with her as she learns both games (APBA & Baseball).

Chas let me pick a Braves team for her so in honor of Chipper Jones, who we are going to see have his number retired this Friday, I chose the 2012 Atlanta squad.  I selected the 1961 Tigers from the set I acquired this past weekend at the APBA Convention.  We also used the new board version of the game I also picked up.

We both used the lineup sheets for the respective teams.  She picked Tim Hudson (B) as her starter while I selected Don Mossi (BYZ).  I won the roll and elected to be the home team.  We played on the kitchen table and the red checkered tablecloth made for a nice background.

The Braves opened up the game with a pair of singles by Bourne and Prado.  Heyward moved them over with a productive 5-3 groundout and Chipper cleared the bases with a double.  Freeman fanned, McCann walked and Uggla flew out to left to end the top half of the 1st.  Braves up 2-0.

Wood opened the Tigers half with a K.  Bruton grounded out 5-3 and Kaline followed with a single.  Colavito ended the threat with another strikeout.

After the Braves did nothing with a lead-off walk by Simmons, the Tigers got one run back in their half of the 2nd. Cash drew a walk and went to third on a double by Boros.  Cash scored on a single by Fernandez.  Brown fouled out to the thirdbaseman, Mossi struck out and Wood fouled out to third and the score stood at 2-1 Braves.

Nobody scored until the Boros and Fernandez drew back-to-back walks to open the bottom of the 4th.  Brown scored both of them with a bases-clearing triple.  Mossi popped up to short, Wood struck out and Bruton lined out to 2nd.  Tigers up 3-2.

The Braves drew even with a 1-out HR by Heyward in the top of the 5th.  Chipper followed with a walk, then Mossi seemed to settle down when Freeman flew out to left and McCann grounded out to the second baseman when the throw beat him to 1st.  Score tied 3-3.

That was it until Mossi was lifted for a pinch-hitter with one out in the bottom of the 9th.  To that point, Mossi retired the last 14 hitters he faced.  Pinch-hitter Bill Freehan hit to third for the easy 5-3 out.  Wood followed with a double but Bruton flew out to center and the score remained knotted at 3.

Fox came on in relief and Bourne greeted him with a single.  Prado hit into the 3-6 fielder’s choice as he just beat the return throw.  Heyward struck out and Prado was gunned out stealing trying to get into scoring position for Chipper.

Kimbrell came in to relieve Tim Hudson.  Hudson battled with 3 earned runs on 7 hits and 5 walks while striking out 5 in 9 innings.  Al Kaline greeted Kimbrell with a HR to end the game in the bottom of the 10th inning.  Kimbrell took the loss while Fox collect the win.

This was a fun game.  My wife is trying to learn the game and I am being patient teaching her.  I scored the game by hand since her learning the game doesn’t mix well with me fumbling with the BallScore program.  Last time we tried this, I know the BallScore program frustrated her since I was lacking experience and still working on grasping the nuances of this great utility.  My scoring by hand technique is fairly elementary and I made several mistakes, but it is much more expedient.  My first mistake was forgetting to skip a line as I entered the lineup for my Tigers.  My wife, in her eagerness to learn, wanted to enter her lineup as well and made the same mistake I did.

I like the new cards.  That was one of my first games with the 2012 set and since I just got the 1961 cards, it was their maiden voyage as well.  Kimbrell was especially impressive with his A&C KXYZ card.  I knew Norm Cash had a great year and his card reflects that.  The 1961 Tigers may be the early leaders for the 2014 Convention.  They have a good rotation with several Zs and I like the lineup.

I am still enjoying my 1914-16 Tournament, but I like other seasons as well.  Truthfully, I know I lack the discipline to play a full season for even one team, much less for a league.  I think I can do much better with smaller tournaments.  I would like to play some 16 or 32 field tourneys using a best-of-three or round-robin format.  My model for the round-robin would probably be some of the softball tourneys I played where there were five or six team groups.  The five team groups work well because that allows me to play some tournaments with the 30 team seasons with six groups.  I can use run differential for wild card selections.

The six team groups work well as each team plays each other team in the group twice for a ten game set.  There are plenty of ways to align the tournaments, but I will try to apply the 2013 APBA Convention Tournament Rules.  The rules I most enjoyed were the extra inning rule and the relieving rules.  I have been just using the lineups from the Official Lineup Sheets available for download from APBA, but I may try tweaking the lineups to take advantage of some of the better cards by players who may have played a part-time role.

There are endless possibilities and for all I know, I’ll search the Internet for tournament or bracket guidelines and come up with even more ideas.  The game is the thing.  I love this game and it is a lot of fun.  Life is good!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

I-75 Strat-O-Matic League

The foremost Strat-O-Matic brains in the country

Ten-acious Baseball League

A Strat-o-matic Simulation League

Jim's APBA Barn

APBA Sports Games and other Table Topics

Ask Rotoman

Answers to fantasy baseball questions (and much more) since 1996

jimsceblog

There's a fine line between visionary and wrong. Unfortunately, it takes a visionary to see it.

Isaac Miller

Professional Computer Scientist | Amateur Baseball Scientist

ArchRivals Baseball

APBA Baseball info and APBA compatible sets

APBA Life

Baseball

Smart Fantasy Baseball

fantasy baseball data, projections, and strategy

Oguard62

In pursuit of the perfect replay

101 Fantasy Football Tips

e-Book help from 50+ Fantasy writers.

