SteveMRyan's Blog

June 25, 2013

Extra Innings…

Filed under: Uncategorized — stevemryan @ 2:08 pm

Baltimore squeaked out a 3-2 victory in the bottom of the 10th when pinch-hitter Johnny Bates rapped a double in the gap in right center field and scored on a single.  After Benny Meyer popped to short, Vern Duncan laced a single over the second baseman and Bates slid in ahead of the tag.  Both pitchers went the distance as the series is now tied one game apiece.  The most interesting part of the game, was my first roll for each team in their half of the 1st inning was a 66.

This was my first game with the new boards and I like the new booklet.  The results are black on alternating white and grey background with a very nice font.  The book is quite a bit larger than the previous booklet, so I may have to figure out a way to extend my podium to prop up the book.

I also painted my dice tower a dark green and attached a couple of blank APBA Baseball cards to the front and back.  The next time I buy something from the MLB online store, I’ll put any of the little hologram baseball stickers on the side.  The dice tower really works well with my limited space on my desktop.  My laptop takes up more space than a regular score-book would so it is better than the old #250 tray I was using.

Rnd1Gm2SLN15

 

Rnd1Gm2BLF14

 

On another note, I attended my first APBA Convention.  This was the first convention in Alpharetta, GA and it won’t be my last.  The previous conventions had been held in Lancaster, PA or other cities like New York, Washington DC or Philadelphia.  I met a lot of wonderful people and look forward to seeing them and meeting many more next year.  Words can’t describe the full experience from the fellowship to the games.

The tournament was a blast and I brought the 1998 Braves.  After a rocky 1-4 start, we surged to a 4-1 finish  and ended up a respectable 5-5.  The experience gained was invaluable.  There are several things I need to work on and I hope to improve next year.

As much fun as the games were, the fellow APBA hobbyist were a pure delight.  The names on the forum discussion boards are now matched up with a face.  That makes the whole gaming experience much more enjoyable and I tried to thank several of the people for making this game as enjoyable as it has been.  The whole convention was just about as good of a time as I have had besides the wonderful times I have with my wife.  She is even sensing my excitement about the game and has offered to play a game.  Maybe we will be able to do much more in the future as her busy school schedule permits.

Overall, this was one of the best times I have had and there is a chance we may be able to work out the details for the APBA Football Club Convention in Canton Ohio later this year.  I am not that big of a football fan, but I really enjoyed spending time with the people this weekend.  I also got some good information about the APBA Soccer Game and I might even be willing to give it a try.  Life it good!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

I-75 Strat-O-Matic League

The foremost Strat-O-Matic brains in the country

Ten-acious Baseball League

A Strat-o-matic Simulation League

Jim's APBA Barn

APBA Sports Games and other Table Topics

Ask Rotoman

Answers to fantasy baseball questions (and much more) since 1996

jimsceblog

There's a fine line between visionary and wrong. Unfortunately, it takes a visionary to see it.

Isaac Miller

Professional Computer Scientist | Amateur Baseball Scientist

ArchRivals Baseball

APBA Baseball info and APBA compatible sets

APBA Life

Baseball

Smart Fantasy Baseball

fantasy baseball data, projections, and strategy

Oguard62

In pursuit of the perfect replay

101 Fantasy Football Tips

e-Book help from 50+ Fantasy writers.

