SteveMRyan's Blog

July 5, 2013

I am getting really good…

Filed under: Uncategorized — stevemryan @ 5:36 am

…At fixing my mistakes.  The program really is intuitive and the more I goof the better I am getting at correcting my mistakes.  This is education by trial-and-error, kind of like Algebra II. So far today I have watched the Cubs lose to the A’s.  Yeonis Cespedis (sp?) threw out a Cubbie at the plate on a really nice play.  There was also a runner caught stealing on a awesome throw by the Cubs catcher.  I love this game!

I am watching the Rays @ Houston and Tampa Bay just took the lead in the 10th 6-5.  I enjoy this mlb.tv package.  Watching or listening to games when I want to is worth not having to pay a cable or satellite company a large amount on money every month for a package that has 200+ channels.  I only watch the baseball games and then in the winter, we catch up on DVDs of shows (without the commercials) we missed while I was watching those baseball games.  Netflix and Hulu+ are a fraction of the cost (1/6 or so) and we also save on DVDs because Netflix and Hulu+ are essentially on-demand type services.  My wife discovered this I Believe. I am so thankful that she is so smart and persistent when it comes to spending money in a wiser manner.

So my most recent game had the 1914 Dodgers beating the 1916 Yankees 8-3.  The score was tied for a few innings 1-1 when the Yankees went ahead 3-1.  In the bottom of the inning, I pinch-hit for the Brooklyn pitcher.  The amazing thing was the pinch-hitter got on base to lead off the inning then later made the last out of the inning.  That was the first time that I have had a team bat around in an inning.

My mistakes were from some other careless error I made, but I was able to fix it.  Like I said, I am becoming a master at fixing errors.

That was pretty exciting having that much offense in one inning.  After the pinch-hitter, I left the reliever in the get the save, basically pitching to the save stat.  The managers of that era probably would have done the same thing, even though the save stat didn’t come into existence until 1969.  The irony is that I am not all that sure how to compile the stats.  We shall see how that works out. ImageImageI do see another error.  It appears that one of the relievers came in in the 8th inning, when he actually came into the game in the 7th.  Not sure if that was part of the previous error or if that was part of an error I created and didn’t catch.  I am looking forward to seeing if I can correct that error.  Should be interesting, but life goes on.

I just started watching the Braves host the Marlins.  Did I mention I love mlb.tv?  Life is good!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

I-75 Strat-O-Matic League

The foremost Strat-O-Matic brains in the country

Ten-acious Baseball League

A Strat-o-matic Simulation League

Jim's APBA Barn

APBA Sports Games and other Table Topics

Ask Rotoman

Answers to fantasy baseball questions (and much more) since 1996

jimsceblog

There's a fine line between visionary and wrong. Unfortunately, it takes a visionary to see it.

Isaac Miller

Professional Computer Scientist | Amateur Baseball Scientist

ArchRivals Baseball

APBA Baseball info and APBA compatible sets

APBA Life

Baseball

Smart Fantasy Baseball

fantasy baseball data, projections, and strategy

Oguard62

In pursuit of the perfect replay

101 Fantasy Football Tips

e-Book help from 50+ Fantasy writers.

