SteveMRyan's Blog

July 27, 2013

Finally, a little breathing room…

Filed under: Uncategorized — stevemryan @ 4:50 pm

And the Senators needed it.  Down by one, the Senators got two in the top of the 8th and followed that up with two more in the top of the ninth.  The Blues pushed one across the plate in the bottom of the ninth and left the tying runs on as they lost 4-2.  This was one of the better games I have had in the tournament.  The Senators move on to face the 11th seeded 1914 Boston Red Sox.  in 1914, the Red Sox finished in second place 10.5 games ahead of the Washington club.  Should be a good series.

Image

 

Image

 

I am down to my final 10 match-ups in the first round of this 64 team 1914-1916 Tournament.  I think my next tournament might mix multiple seasons, but I will be a little less enthusiastic about the number of teams.  I downloaded the baseball stats database from Sean Lahman’s website (baseball1.com).  With the team file and a little research on some random functions in Excel, I should be able to pick some teams that will be good match-ups.  Hopefully, I can find the functions so I can seed them randomly.  With my collection of APBA Seasons, I should be able to have some interesting tournaments.  Maybe that will play a role in my APBA Convention Tournament Team selection next year.  Then again, I will probably still pick a team I like.  Life is good!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

I-75 Strat-O-Matic League

The foremost Strat-O-Matic brains in the country

Ten-acious Baseball League

A Strat-o-matic Simulation League

Jim's APBA Barn

APBA Sports Games and other Table Topics

Ask Rotoman

Answers to fantasy baseball questions (and much more) since 1996

jimsceblog

There's a fine line between visionary and wrong. Unfortunately, it takes a visionary to see it.

Isaac Miller

Professional Computer Scientist | Amateur Baseball Scientist

ArchRivals Baseball

APBA Baseball info and APBA compatible sets

APBA Life

Baseball

Smart Fantasy Baseball

fantasy baseball data, projections, and strategy

Oguard62

In pursuit of the perfect replay

101 Fantasy Football Tips

e-Book help from 50+ Fantasy writers.

