SteveMRyan's Blog

August 5, 2013

And I hope real-life imitates…

Filed under: Uncategorized — stevemryan @ 10:09 pm

When the 14 Reds’ pitcher, Red Ames (BY), came up to bat down 2-0, I let him hit.  There was still a few innings left and the 15 Phillies’ Pete Alexander (A&CXZ) was in control.  But it seemed like the thing to do.  Ames got a single and was left on base.

The 6th seeded 1915 Phillies  faced the 1914 Reds who are seeded 59th.  Since the lower seed is always the home team in the first game, the Reds had the last ups.  They needed it. 

Image

Image

 

The Reds got two runs in the bottom of the 8th inning to tie the score.  In the bottom of the 9th, the eighth place hitter, Tommy Clarke started the frame with Alexander’s seventh strikeout.  With the pitcher up, I was faced with the same decision I had in the bottom of the 7th.  I let the pitcher hit because the other choices weren’t much of an improvement.  The Phillies had the top of the order due up in the 10th, so I was going to let Ames pitch until he allowed a runner.  We didn’t get that far.  I rolled a 66 for a 0 and then a 31 for a 1 and as quick as you can say wow, the Reds had won 3-2 on a last inning Home Run!

My wife has a friend that, due to circumstances beyond her control, can’t use tickets to Sunday’s Braves’ game.  Fortunately, in the state of Georgia, this friend can’t think of anyone who likes the Braves better than my wife.  We are getting to go to see the Marlins play the Braves for the 2nd time in as many years. 

At last year’s game we saw Freddie Freeman hit a two-out walk-off Home Run that clinched the Braves Playoff Spot.  There was also some type of record for Kris Medlen where the Braves won a game he had started for so many times in-a-row.  My wife has some video from that game on her youtube.com account and we just happened to watch it last night.

When my wife first told me about the tickets I was not all that crazy about it.  I didn’t know where the seats are.  I didn’t know off the top of my head who the Braves are playing.  And most importantly, I didn’t know if there was a parking pass involved.  I have mentioned my affinity for the Tony Kornheiser Radio Show.  Part of any Mr Tony experience is having parking taken care of.  I have learned well.

Our seats are in the right-field corner on the front row.  I believe we are in fair territory and maybe in the sun.  I usually prefer sitting in more of a shaded area.  But this is good because we can catch batting practice homers and game Home Runs as well.  I am excited!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

I-75 Strat-O-Matic League

The foremost Strat-O-Matic brains in the country

Ten-acious Baseball League

A Strat-o-matic Simulation League

Jim's APBA Barn

APBA Sports Games and other Table Topics

Ask Rotoman

Answers to fantasy baseball questions (and much more) since 1996

jimsceblog

There's a fine line between visionary and wrong. Unfortunately, it takes a visionary to see it.

Isaac Miller

Professional Computer Scientist | Amateur Baseball Scientist

ArchRivals Baseball

APBA Baseball info and APBA compatible sets

APBA Life

Baseball

Smart Fantasy Baseball

fantasy baseball data, projections, and strategy

Oguard62

In pursuit of the perfect replay

101 Fantasy Football Tips

e-Book help from 50+ Fantasy writers.

