SteveMRyan's Blog

March 18, 2014

A billion…

Filed under: Uncategorized — stevemryan @ 5:17 am

Several years ago 2K sports had a contest where the first video gamer using their MLB2Kxx to throw a perfect game would win a million dollars.  One gentleman took a few weeks off work, I believe he was a teacher, and played the game a lot, then won the money.  I believe we call that the brute force method.

Yahoo! has teamed up with Quicken to offer a billion dollar prize to someone who correctly picks all 63 games of the 2014 NCAA Men’s Basketball Tournament.  That was billion with a ‘B’!!!

Every single year since junior high, I have picked the games in the NCAA Tourney.  Sometimes I do well and sometimes I don’t.  I used to do better when I watched more basketball games.  One year I even subscribed to the ESPN Full-court package because I enjoy watching basketball.  I usually buy USA Today the Monday after the release of the bracket match-ups.  USA Today has a whole section with short bios for each team.  I have found this info useful because it has information I could get if I watched lots of games.

This year I watched part of a game.  That is part of one game.

So this contest to win a billion dollars is probably out of my reach.  Since there is a lot of luck involved, I have pretty much eliminated whatever skill I could have applied.  I need luck since my main source of basketball IQ is observation of recent performance in past tournaments.  By that I mean that usually the Cinderella Teams of the first weekend lose their first game of the second weekend.  I tend to go with higher seeds after the first 48 games.  Still, it requires a lot of luck.

I enjoy basketball.  It is my second favorite team sport to watch.  I don’t consider horse racing a team sport, but I try to catch the Triple Crown races each year.  Basketball is fun on the college level because not all the players intend on playing professionally after they use their eligibility.  Theoretically, college basketball players are scholar-athletes.  That is especially true for teams from conferences like The Patriot League.  Players from these type leagues are gallant.

So when it comes down to my 2014 NCAA Tournament Brackets, I will call them my little gallant entry in a contest for a billion dollars.  It cost me nothing except a little time.  And before the games start, like millions of others, I have hope that maybe I can somehow pick 63 straight college basketball games correctly!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

I-75 Strat-O-Matic League

The foremost Strat-O-Matic brains in the country

Ten-acious Baseball League

A Strat-o-matic Simulation League

Jim's APBA Barn

APBA Sports Games and other Table Topics

Ask Rotoman

Answers to fantasy baseball questions (and much more) since 1996

jimsceblog

There's a fine line between visionary and wrong. Unfortunately, it takes a visionary to see it.

Isaac Miller

Professional Computer Scientist | Amateur Baseball Scientist

ArchRivals Baseball

APBA Baseball info and APBA compatible sets

APBA Life

Baseball

Smart Fantasy Baseball

fantasy baseball data, projections, and strategy

Oguard62

In pursuit of the perfect replay

101 Fantasy Football Tips

e-Book help from 50+ Fantasy writers.

