SteveMRyan's Blog

May 27, 2016

My contribution to APBA Saddle Racing Board Game Week

Filed under: Uncategorized — stevemryan @ 11:23 pm

With a slight change to my schedule at work, I will be able to run a race this weekend.  I am calling my race The 2016 Memorial Stakes with a length of 11 furlongs.  I selected 10 of my favorite horses from races I have run previously.  I narrowed my selection to three year olds from the 1970’s.  When I run races, I usually photocopy my cards so I can write the jockey names above the horse and do my arithmetic on the space below.  I usually do four across on legal paper but now that I have this dandy spreadsheet, I just cut out my horses from earlier race sheets.  Here are the horses with their jockey in parentheses by post number & odds:

1 – 1978 Alydar (J Velasquez) 5-2

2 – 1973 Secretariat (R Turcotte) 2-1

3 – 1978 Mac Diarmida (W Shoemaker) 5-2

4 – 1976 Elocutionist (J Lively) 4-1

5 – 1977 Seattle Slew (J Cruguet) 7-2

6 – 1971 Canonero II (G Avilo) 9-2

7 – 1978 Affirmed (L Pincay Jr) 8-5

8 – 1979 Spectacular Bid (R Franklin) 5-2

9 – 1973 Forego (P Anderson) 7-2

10 – 1976 Bold Forbes (A Cordero Jr) 9-2

The Post Positions were picked randomly.  I hope to post using the similar format I used in my replay of the 2015 Kentucky Derby.  All of the horses will run in Column I.  This should be a formidable field with Affirmed a slight betting favorite over Secretariat.  Canonero II and Bold Forbes are the longshots.  The track conditions are fast and my previous record for 11 furlongs is held by 1969 Majestic Prince (three year old – fast track) ridden by W Hartack and 1977 Forego (seven year old – good track) ridden by W Shoemaker in a time of 2:11 3/5ths.  That record could be challenged based on the strength of this field.

2016 Memorial Stakes Pre-race

2016 Memorial Stakes Pre-Race Spreadsheet

2016 MS Pre-Race

Saddle Racing Board Picture Pre-Race

Enjoy the Race when I post move-by-move results probably Saturday. – Steve

 

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

I-75 Strat-O-Matic League

The foremost Strat-O-Matic brains in the country

Ten-acious Baseball League

A Strat-o-matic Simulation League

Jim's APBA Barn

APBA Sports Games and other Table Topics

Ask Rotoman

Answers to fantasy baseball questions (and much more) since 1996

jimsceblog

There's a fine line between visionary and wrong. Unfortunately, it takes a visionary to see it.

Isaac Miller

Professional Computer Scientist | Amateur Baseball Scientist

ArchRivals Baseball

APBA Baseball info and APBA compatible sets

APBA Life

Baseball

Smart Fantasy Baseball

fantasy baseball data, projections, and strategy

Oguard62

In pursuit of the perfect replay

101 Fantasy Football Tips

e-Book help from 50+ Fantasy writers.

