SteveMRyan's Blog

June 11, 2016

My APBA Area

Filed under: Uncategorized — stevemryan @ 12:05 pm

I  don’t remember the last time I posted my APBA playing area.  I have also included a picture of one of my storage cabinets.  If my latest tourney post has been read, the second picture my dice tower will be fully understood.

I could rotate the pic, but the area can be seen clearly.

I could rotate the pic, but the area can be seen clearly.

Storage cabinet with mostly baseball sets.

Storage cabinet with mostly baseball sets.

To keep dice from wondering onto the floor, under the table and into hidden crevices, I taped an index card to the side.

To keep dice from wondering onto the floor, under the table and into hidden crevices, I taped an index card to the side.

I painted the tower to a nice shade of green.  Hopefully it is a shade with will welcome the dice, especially the little tiny white die.

2 Comments »

  1. There’s nothing worse than having to crawl under the desk to find the runaway die! In lieu of a file card, I placed a small model 1957 Bel Air cop car right in the spot where they like to go. I always say, “Thank you, officer!” when they bounce off his patrol car and back towards me. 🙂 (I assume, since the car is a ’57, that the officer is probably a dude.) I’ll have to post a pic.

    I love the finger tabs you’ve added to the result booklet, a la the old sacrifice/hit & run book. I am going to mimic that if i can figure out where to buy the tabs! It’s tough being old school. I will soon run out of AJ scoresheets, and there’s no AJ to order more from. People sell a download but with no printer, that doesn’t do me any good. I guess it’s either find a copy shop or go back to notebook paper.

    How do you like the basketball game? I found it impenetrable, though my friend liked it and played 2 seasons with it. I found that a game called Statis-Pro flowed a lot better. but I don’t think it is made anymore.

    I have never played the saddle racing, and in fact, didn’t realize they made it! (I must have known, once, and forgot.) As a child, I had a game that had belonged to my older brother, called Eddie Acaro’s Horse Race Game or something similar. I used to play the heck out of that. Girls and horses, what can anyone do?

    I have been remiss. I can’t believe that I forgot to add your blog to my sidebar, but have now done so. You are one of the very few who comment at my APBA blog and I appreciate it and enjoy your remarks! I got spoiled with my poetry blogs (Shay’s Word Garden is my main blog, and I have the fictional Coal Black’s House Of Pain on WordPress) where tons of people comment, it’s very social. Tabletop bloggers don’t seem to be the same and I’m not sure why. Anyway, your blog now has pride of place on my blog list.

    Shay

    Comment by coalblack — June 15, 2016 @ 7:57 am

  2. Thanks for the encouragement. I blog infrequently to say the least.

    As for the TABS, I picked them up at Office Depot for a couple of dollars. I could have gotten a couple of packs so the color codes would match with my other books but I wrote the base-situation on them anyway so colors don’t mater.

    I would take a couple of AJ Scoresheets and go to a FedEx Office or similar store and you could get two-sided copies made for a couple of cents a sheet. If you check out the Delphi Forums you might post on there asking for Eric Naftely’s email address since I believe he still sells the scoresheets, but I am not positive about that.

    Love your blog and rolls those Cards some Ls!

    Comment by stevemryan — June 15, 2016 @ 6:27 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

I-75 Strat-O-Matic League

The foremost Strat-O-Matic brains in the country

Ten-acious Baseball League

A Strat-o-matic Simulation League

Jim's APBA Barn

APBA Sports Games and other Table Topics

Ask Rotoman

Answers to fantasy baseball questions (and much more) since 1996

jimsceblog

There's a fine line between visionary and wrong. Unfortunately, it takes a visionary to see it.

Isaac Miller

Professional Computer Scientist | Amateur Baseball Scientist

ArchRivals Baseball

APBA Baseball info and APBA compatible sets

APBA Life

Baseball

Smart Fantasy Baseball

fantasy baseball data, projections, and strategy

Oguard62

In pursuit of the perfect replay

101 Fantasy Football Tips

e-Book help from 50+ Fantasy writers.

