SteveMRyan's Blog

July 17, 2016

The things you learn…

Filed under: Uncategorized — stevemryan @ 8:24 pm

I jumped off the pop culture train in the late 1980s.  Ask me a question about music or most popular TV shows (Seinfeld, Friends…etc) and I draw a blank.  I have always followed baseball, but I lost track of the NBA, most of the NFL and I never really kept up with the NHL.

The Internet has helped some.  I was working today and looking at a variety of blogs.  One was referring to a game company’s Negro League card set for use with their game.  The blog was several years old and said the set was still available.  Being the curious type, I clicked on the link and discovered the set was available either with a full game or as an individual purchase.

I clicked around on the site and saw something else very intriguing.  The company has a basketball game card set available for the 2001-02  NBA Season.  One of the points of interest was the fact that the Nets made the NBA Finals.  Somehow I had totally missed that.  I love Sports-reference.com and the related sites.  I looked on basketball-reference.com and sure enough, the Nets were swept by the Lakers.  Who knew?

Friday I was surfing the internet at work and was reading about the many satellite APBA tournaments popping up mainly in the upper-Midwest.  Several of the tournaments feature divisional round-robin play followed by a single-elimination playoff round.  Baseball is not a game that is good at determining a champion in a single elimination format.  I prefer at least a best-of-three playoff format.

TCABT6

 

There is a tournament in central Minnesota the first weekend in October with the best-of-three playoff format.  Friday when I returned home from work I asked my wife if she would like to make a quick trip to Minnesota.  She said that would be fun.  Last night we found a hotel with a vacancy on those dates and we made a reservation.  There must be something going on that weekend because there weren’t many vacancies at the hotel chains we were familiar with at reasonable prices.

So I will get to play in my first non-APBA Convention tournament and I am excited.  It will be well worth the 30-hour round trip drive.  The team selection is a bit less restrictive than the APBA Convention so I will still use the 1998 Atlanta Braves Great Teams of the Past edition.  The hitting numbers are rearranged but for the most part, they are the same.  There is a small bump for better strikeout ratings and one reliever is an A* up from a B*.  Other teams get the same advantage I am sure so it will all even out.

98 Braves

Yes, I have three versions of the same team.

 

With a new guy being hired at work the overtime should be reduced significantly.  Hopefully, we should be back to working around 48 hours a week with no more than six 12-hour shifts in a row.  The new hire is younger by 20+ years than the guy he is replacing so there shouldn’t be as many sick call-outs and the newbie probably won’t have as many vacation days.  Work should be a less stressful atmosphere.

That is probably why my wife agreed to the quick trip.  Last month I had some vacation days but other than that, I was only off work for two days.  This month I may have four total off days.  I am in the midst of 11 straight days at work.    I tend to lose track of days.

So the APBA Tournament will be great.  Win or lose I will have a blast.  I will know a few people there from the APBA Convention in Alpharetta but I will also meet new friends.  Plus, I will get to be with lots of people playing my favorite game.  I am excited!

 

2 Comments »

  1. Steve, what a brutal schedule you have! You deserve every ounce of relaxation and fun you can get. Good luck to your Braves.

    Comment by coalblack — July 19, 2016 @ 7:44 am

    • Thanks. The schedule is a bit brutal, mainly because it cuts into my APBA time. We run a skelton crew normally so being a person short makes things a bit rough, especially in the summer when people have vacation plans. Somehow I suspect the other fellow carefully picked when he would be out. My wife is very understanding and I couldn’t get through times like this without her support.

      Comment by stevemryan — July 20, 2016 @ 6:56 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

I-75 Strat-O-Matic League

The foremost Strat-O-Matic brains in the country

Ten-acious Baseball League

A Strat-o-matic Simulation League

Jim's APBA Barn

APBA Sports Games and other Table Topics

Ask Rotoman

Answers to fantasy baseball questions (and much more) since 1996

jimsceblog

There's a fine line between visionary and wrong. Unfortunately, it takes a visionary to see it.

Isaac Miller

Professional Computer Scientist | Amateur Baseball Scientist

ArchRivals Baseball

APBA Baseball info and APBA compatible sets

APBA Life

Baseball

Smart Fantasy Baseball

fantasy baseball data, projections, and strategy

Oguard62

In pursuit of the perfect replay

101 Fantasy Football Tips

e-Book help from 50+ Fantasy writers.

