SteveMRyan's Blog

August 22, 2016

Fantasy Football Time again!

Filed under: Uncategorized — stevemryan @ 1:33 pm

…And I won’t play.  I used to play fantasy baseball and it helped me in my understanding of baseball.  Fantasy Football caused me to dislike football.  This year I might try to watch some football games other than the Super Bowl.  I might not.

The last time I played Fantasy Football, my team was named the Harrison Redskins.  I created an offensive logo for my helmet and I believe I let the online league website draft my team.

Redskins

Harrison Redskins

 

 

My biggest problem with Fantasy Football is the injury process.  Some teams, like the New England Patriots, seem to respect the players’ privacy in the aspect of the HIPAA Law of 1996.  My wife has worked in the healthcare field and understands the HIPAA Law much better than I do.  My understanding is that personal healthcare information is a private matter and the injured worker controls the release of that information.  This also applies to work related injuries which are what most Fantasy Football Injuries appear to be.  My dad had a bad wreck last December 16th, 2015 and it is a Worker’s Comp situation.  I hope Football Players don’t have to deal with Liberty Mutual for their claims.  The nicest way to say it is Liberty Mutual’s Worker’s Comp division sucks.

My other problem with an injury situation, as it relates to Fantasy Football, is the waiver player pickup process.  Most pickups are the first-come-first-serve variety for people actually watching games and trolling the waiver wire looking for available players.  This is particularly advantageous when a starting QB or RB experiences a season-ending injury and an obvious replacement is waiting in the wings.

That is just another reason I love APBA Games.  Last week, I played a football game.  I rolled play results that would have been injuries for key players but I chose to ignore those results.

Den-Car Scoresheet 081516

 I do the same when I play APBA Baseball using cards and dice.  When I play Baseball for Windows, I let injuries stand since ignoring them isn’t an option.

White Sox Baseball

This morning I rolled a game between the 1965 Twins and the 1965 Cardinals.  Jim Kaat won the game for the Twins beating Bob Gibson’s Cardinals 4-2.  No players were injured in the rolling of this game and an angel got their wings.

65 SLN @ 65 MIN 082216v

65 SLN @ 65 MIN 082216h

65MIN @ 65 SLN 082216

I am still playing my 1965 Tournament and am halfway through Group C with the 1965 Cincinnati Reds and the 1965 Milwaukee Braves advancing to the Knockout Round from Groups A & B respectively.  It has been a fun tournament and I am sure I won’t be done until all of the available Fantasy Football Leagues have drafted and teams are claimed.

3 Comments »

  1. You’re funny about the wings! The ’65 Twins were a powerhouse. They were real life winners, of course, and they won 105 games for me in my replay. The ’65 Cards not so much. They were very streaky for me, just awful at times and then other times pretty good. Their season highlight was tossing back to back no-hitters at the Cubs late in the season. I want to say it was Purkey and Stallard…is that even possible? I think it was them.

    Comment by coalblack — August 23, 2016 @ 8:48 pm

  2. I just looked it up; it WAS Purkey and Stallard, September 1st and 2nd, scores 6-0 and 2-0. My ’65 cards finished 86-76, but only did so by playing well in the second half. They were awful in the first half.

    Comment by coalblack — August 23, 2016 @ 8:50 pm

    • I don’t believe I’ve ever rolled a no-hitter but I have had several using the computer game. I am in ten email leagues so the volume of games makes it much more likely I guess since that works out to around 770 – 810 games a year. Some leagues are 154 game schedule and some are 162 which is 77 or 81 home games per season.

      Comment by stevemryan — August 23, 2016 @ 9:13 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

I-75 Strat-O-Matic League

The foremost Strat-O-Matic brains in the country

Ten-acious Baseball League

A Strat-o-matic Simulation League

Jim's APBA Barn

APBA Sports Games and other Table Topics

Ask Rotoman

Answers to fantasy baseball questions (and much more) since 1996

jimsceblog

There's a fine line between visionary and wrong. Unfortunately, it takes a visionary to see it.

Isaac Miller

Professional Computer Scientist | Amateur Baseball Scientist

ArchRivals Baseball

APBA Baseball info and APBA compatible sets

APBA Life

Baseball

Smart Fantasy Baseball

fantasy baseball data, projections, and strategy

Oguard62

In pursuit of the perfect replay

101 Fantasy Football Tips

e-Book help from 50+ Fantasy writers.

